What Not To Do!

I had been away for a day trip to NY yesterday, and so the first thing I did when I got home was to go look and see how the bees were doing. Storm clouds were moving in fast at that time, so I put a brick on the the outside top cover of  the hive to ensure it wouldn’t blow away, and I also collected the feeder with the mason jar and ran inside my house just as it started pouring down rain. As I came into the house I heard a loud crack from above my head and saw my neighbor’s giant trees swaying significantly due to the strong wind that had suddenly picked up, and so I placed feeder on the kitchen counter safely inside so that there was no chance of having to clean-up broken glass tomorrow, and then I ran back outside to move my car up further in the driveway – hopefully to avoid any huge tree branches from totaling my car.

When I got back inside the house, and whew! all of this happened within the first couple minutes of being home (finally), my husband is yelling something about bees are in the house – and oh my, they certainly were! They had still been inside the feeder that I had just brought in and I hadn’t checked that it was vacant before I brought it in. So now those bees are flying everywhere, totally confused as to where they are, flying at the windows, flying at the light bulbs, buzzing everywhere!

Luckily it was just a few, and we were able to strategically capture them and set them free outside. The lesson here is: Be sure to check your Boardman Feeder before ever bringing it inside a house or other establishment. Or better yet, just leave it outside – ha!

3 thoughts on “What Not To Do!

  1. If your bees are anything like mine, you’ll get quite a few of them in your house during the summer evenings. They’re attracted to the lights and because of the warm weather they’re out longer than they should be and get confused and end up in your dinning room. If you get a bee in your house at night, just slowly turn off all the lights in your house, working your way inward toward the light the bee is most attracted to. This will make capturing them muuuuch easier. If you have a light you’d like to direct the bee to, to make capturing it easier, leave that on and turn off the light the bee is currently buzzing. Bees love our dinning room lights, but capturing them is a lot easier on the kitchen light. So we just turn everything but those two lights off, and then eventually the dining room light as well. A cup and a card later, the bee is captured! Also, make sure you walk a fair distance out into your yard before you release it.
    And if you want to deter bees from coming in, you can leave a light on in a different part of the house so they’re attracted to that. During the summer we try to leave the majority of lights off in the family room/dining room/kitchen and leave my moms bedroom light on to direct the bees to the opposite end of the house.

    • Wow, thanks for all the advise. Yeah, it was quite a surprise to have a few in the house but they seemed to only go toward the light we had on in the kitchen, which made capturing pretty easy. I’m getting a lot more comfortable with them now too.

      • Of course! I did things kind of on my own when I first started beekeeping, and I would’ve loved advice from anyone.
        Bees naturally want to go to the light, like most insects, which is why some people choose to mark queens in a dark room with a window, so if the queen gets away they can easily pick her off the window. This is usually only done if the queen is an imported one and wasn’t marked before it was shipped. Maybe I’m just lazy, but I’m not a fan of marking queens. Its just more things to buy and maintain, and it really isn’t at all necessary. That’s just me though.

Leave a Reply

