Week 1 Inspection


Ok, ok – I know I’ve had them for longer than a week at this point…better late than never though! We did our first inspection at the 1-week mark since installing our bees into their new home, and these are the photos from that inspection. There was some noticeable progress; however, not much at all on the frames with the plastic cell foundation at the far ends of the hive. Seems like they are staying in the center for the most part, which is to be expected from what I hear. I don’t have much else to say right now since I’m still learning about what to look for and what it all means.

5 thoughts on “Week 1 Inspection

  1. From the pictures things look normal, as far as comb drawing goes. It takes them a long time to properly draw out all the frames the way you want them to. Wait for them to draw out most of the inner most frames, and then when they seem close to running out of room add an emptier frame into the middle. Only do this if the weather is going to be decent for a while. Below 60 and the gap in the brood nest is biiiig trouble. If its going to be cooler, but the girls still need room, put an empty frame at the edge of the brood nest, where there should be a frame of just honey and pollen stores. If none exists just yet, you should probably wait before worrying about moving frames around for expansion.
    After they’ve begun filling out over half of the box (you only have one box right now, right?) then I’d recommend adding the second box on. They should move readily up into this one, and you can move frames around a little easier because of the increased size of the brood nest. The frames should all be properly drawn out by the end of the year.

    • Ahh, that makes sense. I appreciate your feedback on how things are looking. Since it’s been just over a week and a half since I’ve looked in there, I’m probably going to take a peek this weekend. I observed something rather strange yesterday that my bees were doing on the outside of the box – they were washboarding, have you observed yours ever doing that repeated rocking movement?

      • Washboarding? Like rubbing themselves forward and backward? I’ve never heard or seen anything like that. When I went to Japan on a student exchange program, the family I stayed with kept bees. I watched a group of them cluster together and shake their hind ends angrily whenever a wasp came too close to the hive’s entrance. I know that’s a signal to the other bees, and to the wasp, that they’re potentially going to attack. It was only about a dozen or so bees though.

      • Yes, washboarding, like rocking forward and backward. ALL of the ones that were on the front of the hive were doing it. It was like they were in a zombie state, so weird!

      • how bizarre! Was there anything flying around so far as you could tell that would have cause that reaction? I honestly have no idea what else it would be.

Leave a Reply

