2nd Inspection

We did our 2nd inspection, this time not using any smoke. I’m getting more and more fearless with the bees, which will probably take me getting stung to pull back a little bit on my bravery. On that note, a few of them shot right out at us as soon as we opened up the top cover this time, pinging our veils as if to say, “hey you, I’m watching you – don’t make any false moves,” so we calmly walked away and came back after a moment. They hadn’t done the before but being that I didn’t use smoke, that may be why. I pulled out a couple of the more central frames and definitely saw a lot of progress with the comb they have built on those frames. Still no activity on my plastic cell frames, however. I’m not sure if this would be an accurate observation, but as I was looking around the hive it seemed like their population has increased since when I first brought them home.

Overall, lots of activity on the warm sunny days and still pretty busy on overcast days. On occasion I have seen a couple bees doing what seems to be a very fast fanning motion with their wings as they sit stationary at the entrance of the hive while facing inward. It’s almost like they are gripping the floor beneath their bodies tightly so that they do not fly upwards. At the same time, they also rotate their abdomens around in a circle. My guess is that they are letting off pheromones and fanning the scent outward. I suspect this could be a duty they perform for the young ones that are taking their first flights.

We did a little photo shoot of the entrance to the hive too. Here’s one favorite of a honey bee flying back to the hive while others prepare for their foraging flights. This is constant, however. I could literally watch them for hours coming and going, like they are my favorite part in a movie that I can keep rewinding and watching.

2 thoughts on “2nd Inspection

  1. The bees stand at the entrance and fan pheromones out into the world to make it easier for their sisters to find their way home. They do this especially during/after inspections, because the scent of the hive becomes disrupted from its ‘norm’ as it is pulled apart and put back together. I’ve heard they also do this when a new queen is about to take her mating flight, so she has an easier time getting home. Not that you should be worrying about new queens now or anything, it was just a fun fact I felt I should share.
    Watching honeybees is my favorite pastime!

  2. Thanks for the confirmation. That makes sense that they would do that for the queen too. I usually see at least one doing it per day right now, and usually when one does it then another joins in almost like they are switching shifts to relieve each other – it looks like quite the workout!

Leave a Reply

