To Feed, or Not to Feed, That Is the Question

I’ve been a little conflicted about whether to feed my bees during this very dry period we’re experiencing in the D. On one hand, if I feed them I’d probably be seeing a lot more comb being built which is essential in order for the bees to store the honey they need for over-wintering, but on the other hand, I’d be giving my little girls junk food.

Today, I’m opting for the junk food. It’s not a truly organic approach, but I will sleep better knowing that my bees have happy bellies and are better equipped for pulling the wax they need for their combs. I’m making some simple syrup now with a 1:2 ratio of sugar to water. I’ll let you know what results I observe from this.

Leave a Reply

