Ban on Michigan’s small farm animals

Can this really be happening? A ban on small farm animals in Michigan?

It’s disgraceful. I’ve been proud to be a Michigander, but this is a giant step backward for the state and its urban and suburban farming communities. I’m ashamed the decision was even considered. To think of the possibility of having to give up my bees, my chickens, saddens me, and the fact that whole farms might have to find new homes for all their animals and lose their livelihoods – it grief-strickens me.

And why? For what? I’m frightened at the notion of only Big Farm options from which to get my food. This decision must be challenged.

Here’s a link to a petition, if you haven’t already seen this.

Please help protect small farms in Michigan!

http://petitions.moveon.org/sign/protect-small-farms-in.fb42?source=s.fb&r_by=10471009

One thought on “Ban on Michigan’s small farm animals

Leave a Reply

