Floods & Honey

www.andrewpotterphoto.com

We’ve got HONEY! And a record-breaking flood – my, my, all very exciting stuff for one week’s time.

We extracted 8 frames of honey (well, 9 to be exact, but one of the frames we had an accident with so it turned into cut-comb honey) to address the honey-boundness of my hives and give more room for the queens to do their jobs, hopefully. It took pretty much all day from inspecting each hive thoroughly and deciding which frames to take, to uncapping and then extracting, to cleaning the rented extractor and returning it to SEMBA. Extracting honey, not my idea of a good time and certainly one of my least favorite beekeeping activities, but it really had to be done…now we have honey!

With a 17.5 water content, the honey is a nice light color but still within the acceptable range so that bacteria won’t grow. I bottled about 40 of these half-pound jars and stickered them all with what is turning out to be a very common label for local honey. Anyone who wants some local honey, let me know!

As for the flood, the bees, and the chickens, AND us for that matter, we are all ok. It  has been a really scary and stressful 24 hours from trying to race home in rush-hour traffic to beat the weather, to getting gridlocked, to finally entering my neighborhood and then flooding the car a mere several blocks from my house, to then walking the rest of the way in my absolute most favorite cutest shoes ever in nearly waist-deep water to get home. *SIGH* but, luckily the hives were high enough that they weren’t touched by the flooding; and while the chicken coop is pretty muddy, it will dry out over time. Only my poor basement and my husband’s car remain as question marks, so I should be, and am, very thankful for all the things I still have.

Flood

 

One thought on “Floods & Honey

Leave a Reply

